Images: Volume 1, Week 32

FB_HOF_Busts_08081987On Saturday, the National Football League inducts the latest group of past greats into the league’s Hall of Fame. Each player will have a bust displayed in special room alongside the others that preceded them into the Hall in Canton, Ohio.

On August 8, 1987, the Hall of Fame welcomed the Kansas City Chiefs’ great quarterback, Len Dawson. That morning before the ceremony, I found two young employees taking pictures of themselves with their heads atop the podiums that would soon hold the dark gray, metal busts of Dawson and the other inductees.

When they realized I was photographing their fun, they feared trouble. Once I assured them I was not from the Canton area, and that the photograph would only appear in the Topeka Capital-Journal, they happily consented and asked for prints. I was happy to have a light-hearted image to go along with all the day’s pomp and circumstance.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in America, History, Journalism, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

