Images – Volume 1, Week 6

Horse_Snow_TreesJust shy of 37 years ago, a heavy snowstorm blasted eastern Kansas. On February 13, 1978, 8.7 inches of snow fell in Topeka. While the storm made traveling extremely difficult, the photographers of the Topeka Capital-Journal managed to spread out around the city and county capturing a variety of images that would cover every aspect of the storm. Here are two I made that day west of Topeka.

The snow’s effect on the Kansas farming industry was a key aspect of the day’s story. While heavy snow made feeding and caring for cattle, horses and other animals difficult, the needed moisture from the eventual snow melt led to richer soil and better crops come spring.

Making good photographs in difficult situations is very pleasing, but since I am currently on a three-week tour of warmer climes to cover KU softball and baseball, I am hoping that in my absence no snow falls. Being gone from Laura on Valentine’s Day is bad enough. Though, that is nothing compared to the grief that would come my way should 8.7 inches pile up the day before, leaving the snow shoveling to my Valentine sweetheart.

Cows_Snow_Crops

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in America, Environment, Family, Journalism, Kansas, Laura Jacobsen, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

