The Songs In My Heart

Jacobsens1_12172014Happy anniversary, Laura. Tonight, we will celebrate another year of an amazing marriage, in our very special way. Our 13th. I know you would be happy for me to just express my love to you in private, but you also know that I am a very open and often way too sharing a person when it comes to my love for you.

My thought was to make this a completely lyrical ode to you taking pieces from many love songs to express my love for you. That proved impossible. While there are great expressions of love in those songs, with few exceptions they just cannot come close to the music we daily make together. The Lord blesses us, His angels watch over us and join in the chorus of our love-song life together.

We have these wonderful photographs made by our great friend, George Mullinix. Even though we gave him the monstrous task of making us look “not as we are, but as we would like to think we are,” George still managed to make many special photographs. What I wish we had is a video of that entire session. That alone might have been the funniest look into our life together ever made with all the laughter, passion and sheer joy compressed into just one photography session.

Jacobsens2_12172014For now, my dear, I am keeping this very simple. The incomparable Jack Johnson sings in Better Together –

“…there is not enough time, and there is no song I could sing,
and there is no combination of words I could say, but I will still tell you one thing, we’re better together.”

and as Van Morrison vocalized in Someone Like You

“I’ve been all around the world marching to the beat of a different drum, but just lately I have realized – the best is yet come.”

Happy anniversary, my dear.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Christian Belief, Entertainment, Laura Jacobsen, Music, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Songs In My Heart

  1. Tom Pflug says:

    Happy anniversary to you both. May God continue to bless your marriage with unity in body, mind, and spirit.

  2. Sally says:

    Happy Anniversary to two very special people. Laura, I love you for making my brother complete and so, so happy and to my brother for just being himself and enjoying his life. You are better together and I love you both.

  3. Happy anniversary and Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

