Got, Got, Got, Got No Time

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally, my annual post based on a song that deals with time. This year, Guess Who’s No Time is my song of choice. Originally released on an album in 1969, a reworked tune with an up tempo beat made it releasable as a single in 1970. Lyrics revolve around a lack of time, making it the perfect song for my life since early August.

I got, got, got, got no time
I got, got, got, got no time
I got, got, got, got no time
No, no, no, no, no, no, no time
No, no, no, no, no, no, no time
I got, got, got, got no time
No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no
No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no time
I got no time, got no time, got no time, no time, got no time
Got no time, got no time

Not exactly a profound refrain, but if you have read any of my previous “time” posts with various lyrics, you know that the rush of late summer and early fall at KU give me little time when a camera is not glued to my eye or I stare at a computer screen endlessly.

This year proved to be exceptionally busy. An effort to get all of the media guide work done earlier than in past years, along with the creation of Rock Chalk Weekly, an app-driven magazine that has a Sports Illustrated feel, have consumed me. Since late August, it has been difficult but not impossible. That is why I want to assure the many that read this blog regularly that other lyrics to the Guess Who’s song are not true in this case. Seems the song is a “Dear John” letter to a summer love.

No time for a summer friend
No time for the love you send
Seasons change and so did I
You need not wonder why
You need not wonder why
There’s no time left for you
No time left for you 

Yes, this blog suffered, my cycling mileage dropped, our dog looks to me longingly for a run or at least a long walk. Church attendance is sinful and grandson Jake wonders why we are not going kayaking, biking or to a park. Weariness envelopes me. Yet, I promise there still is “time left for you.” Just a few more sports to finish and all the mugs and posed photographs will be behind me for another year. Things always improve as the last visages of summer fully give way to fall, except that the warmth of summer is gone. I will be back to this blog and all things not KU related. Laura’s equally busy schedule will improve once all her new students settle into their academic routines. For now, I share some of the images in use in many ways in the athletic department and early parts of a special project I am working on with pole vaulter Jordan Scott to help you understand the wide variety of work produced in a short time.

Rock Chalk Weekly deserves special mention. This free app for iPad and other tablets proved itself a hit in a short time. There are many good people working very hard to make this an informative product for KU fans. I especially love the opportunities it affords me to express my photographic skills in ways away from game action or from a different perspective at those events.

As life-long New York Yankees fans, Laura and I watch with fascination, and some sadness, Derek Jeter’s closing days of his storied playing career. Various sponsors have allocated huge sums to honor the great player in commercials. In one, Jeter walks down the tunnel from the clubhouse to the Yankee Stadium field and taps a sign stating the famous words of the Yankee Clipper, Joe DiMaggio, upon his retirement:

“I want to thank the good Lord for making me a – Yankee.”

No matter how tired and weary I might feel at times from all the work, I can say very much the same:

“I want to thank the good Lord for making me a – sports photographer.”

To the good Lord goes all the glory.  I will just keep grinding out the best images possible until He says, “no more.” I pray there remains plenty of “time.”

 

 

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Christian Belief, Cycling, Family, Health, Kansas Athletics, Laura Jacobsen, Music, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

