Jim Keith Passes Away

Coach Jim Keith joined his Savior in heaven on Monday, December 5 after a battle with stomach cancer. Oklahoma’s legendary girl’s high school basketball coach now shares in the joys of heaven with his beloved wife, Jorene. The joy Keith shares with Jorene eases the sadness felt by so many.

Based on Keith’s early coaching career in Western Oklahoma, the movie Believe in Me, remains the coach’s continuing life lesson for those who played for him or knew him. For those that did not, the movie highlights a man gifted as a coach but blessed as a caring friend. That is a very worthy legacy and one we celebrate in our goodbyes to a dear friend, and for Laura a wonderful coach.

Other stories about Coach Keith: The All-Stater and Coach and Catching Up With Coach Keith.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Friends, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Jim Keith Passes Away

  1. Jowahna hill says:

    I got to play basketball for Coach only one year. He came to Oologah my senior year and left a great impression on me and many of my friends. That summer he started the Jim Keith Girl’s Basketball camp and I was introduced to many more wonderful coaches and entered into coaching myself for awhile. Their home was a favorite stopping place after school before a game or a teacher’s meeting. I will miss the talks that we had. He was a great coach and Jorene, a wonderful lady.

  2. jeffjacobsen says:

    Jowahna, thank you for your comments and for the updates on coach Keith that you provided Laura. They were very appreciated. Merry Christmas.

  3. Just now finding this update on Jim Keith. Thank you for letting us know. I am in the process of writing a blog that mentions him. Your info, along with the other two articles about Keith were quite helpful.

  4. Pingback: Meandering Thru March Madness

  5. i JUST WATCHED THE MOVIE FOR THE THIRD TIME. SUCH A HEART WARMING STORY. JUST LOOKED UP INFO ON JIM KEITH. WAS SAD HE HAD PASSED AWAY. HE IS NOW COACHING IN HEAVEN

  6. Ayesha says:

    I,just watched this movie for the first time I must say it is a great film and very inspirational

  7. I just now saw this movie for the first time,,,and had to read more about this awesome coach,,,and now I find out we lost him last year,,,I am truly saddened!!! His coaching success stories brings chills to me,,,I wish I had known him!!!!

  8. Andy New says:

    Just saw tuis kovie and am happy to jnow theres a man in heaven who can coach all the oittle girls that go to heaven way too soon.

  9. Ani says:

    I just finished watching this move, and I have to say it is very touching. I used to play basketball and it inspired me to start playing once again.

  10. Kimber says:

    I just bought this movie and watched it. Oh, it was soooo great! Made me cry!!! So glad that he was there for those girls! I will watch it again soon!

  11. Biplob Kishore Deb says:

    Thanks for giving us some valuable insights of the Great coach Jim Keith. I don’t know how many times I have watched the film ‘Believe in Me,’ for I watch it every time I feel I need some motivation, some inspiration to lift myself up. Suggested by a very caring person who is like a father-figure to me, the movie has been a constant companion for me ever since. Still, don’t know much about coach Keith, but just from watching the movie, I wonder, more than a coach, what a great person he was, and how blessed are those who got to work with or under him in whatever capacity it may be. I don’t know how much of the movie is fictional, and how much of it biographical, but if his real life wife was half the lady portrayed in the movie, then his students should be indebted to her equally. God Bless coach Keith, God Bless Jorene, his wife.

Leave a Reply

