Proud To Be An Ichabod

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thursday night Topeka’s Washburn University hosted Missouri Western on a CBS College Sports national football telecast in Yager Stadium at Moore Bowl. The No. 8 Ichabods dominated the second half for the 41-20 victory. Over 6,000 fans filled the stadium on the beautiful fall evening. The festive atmosphere, along with the outstanding Division II football team Washburn now fields, was a delight to see.

During my Washburn days in the 70’s, the football program was nearly abolished. Winning seasons were a rarity and fan interest was almost non-existent. There were a few seasons of glory, but nothing could be sustained.

Head coach Craig Schurig changed all that and has convinced many top-notch players to choose Washburn. With strong leadership from President Jerry Farley the Washburn campus is full of activity. Director of Athletics Loren Ferre has improved facilities and raised the level of all Washburn athletics to new heights. Those changes are fun to watch.

Washburn’s director of media relations, Gene Cassell, handles his many duties for Washburn with award-winning professionalism. The Thursday night game allowed Laura and me to photograph the contest for Washburn as a gift back to my alma mater and my friend, Cassell.

Musco Lighting illuminated the stadium with two powerful portable lighting standards, making for better quality images from the night game. Thank goodness. During my newspaper years photographing Washburn, I actually prayed for rain or a full moon. Light reflecting off the rain or a bright, full moon added much-needed brightness to the dark stadium.

My work for the Topeka paper right out of high school made me a long time, part-time student at Washburn. My Ichabod pride grew thanks to my daughters. Julie is an alum. Kelly is in her senior year. They both have benefited from the smaller classes, enthused faculty and great study resources.

Here are just a few images that we hope Washburn will find helpful. I am proud to be an Ichabod.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in College Life, Photography, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

