My 9/11 Moment

Everyone remembers where they were and what they were doing on the fateful morning of September 11, 2001. Our world and our lives changed forever on 9/11. The loss of so many and the loss of some our cherished freedoms will never be forgotten.

Laura and I were dating, and a month and two days away from our engagement. I was in my basement work office very early doing photo production work. Turning on the TV, the news of a plane crashing into the South Tower of the World Trade Center was at first reported as a possible accident. Calling Laura in Lawrence, we shared in the tragedy as she readied for work.

As the real horror of the morning unfolded, I tried to keep busy with work, laundry and anything I could. All the while the television kept me informed. Maybe it was shock, but at some point it all seemed so sadly numbing until one announcement shook me awake.

Walking from my desk to move clothing from the washer to dryer, my knees suddenly buckled. The hijacked plane that flew into that South Tower was American Flight 11 from Boston to San Francisco. That Boston flight was the regular route of Laura’s mother, a flight attendant for American Airlines.

Racing to the phone, a desperate call to Laura went unanswered. All sorts of terrifying thoughts raced through my mind. My knees buckled once again, only this time it was to kneel in prayer. Finally, Laura’s call came. She informed me that she had earlier talked with her mother, safe in her home on a scheduled day off, even though we all realized working friends of Laura’s mother were now dead.

The conflict between life and death will forever confound us. David sang in Psalm 23 that though I walk through the valley of death, I will fear no evil for You are with me. That fateful walk spares no one because our sins brought evil forever into our fearful world. Fortunately in Christ, there is an answer to those fears.

My prayers then and today for all so dramatically affected by 9/11 come from 1st Peter 4:

My friends, do not be surprised at the terrible trouble which now comes to test you. Do not think something strange is happening to you. Be happy that you are sharing in Christ’s sufferings so that you will be happy and full of joy when Christ comes again in glory.

Yes, we will never forget 9/11, but we should also find joy in the fact our Savior will never forget us no matter how trying the times. May that assurance be a blessing to all.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Christian Belief, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 9/11 Moment

  1. Jeff, whenever i read a quote or scripture as those, I get a little nudge of, is this what I need? have I found it?, for past too many years, I’ve had too much fear and nothing to be happy about-right now I put it all into photography without much fulfillment. You have found peace and grace and want to spread it around-thanks.

  2. Scott Weaver says:

    Amen, brother. Great post.

    “Be still, and know that I am God.” – Psalms 46:10 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

