Our College Graduate

“No more classes, no more books. No more of a certain teacher’s dirty looks!! I am done with college!!” – Julie Jacobsen, December 16, 2010

Those words from Julie’s Facebook yesterday not only bring euphoria to my daughter, they bring great joy to everyone that loves her. The path to her Bachelor of Arts Degree in Mass Media from Washburn University has been a long and circuitous journey. Torturous at times. There have been lefts and rights, laughs and tears.

Without all the drama and the trauma, the final success wouldn’t have meant what it does today. People grow and mature in very different ways. Julie needed the hard-knock education just as much as she needed any classroom education to realize her potential. She never would have grown to be the woman she is today without either.

Through it all her Savior was with her – even in the worst of times and when that realization seemed clouded by circumstances within and beyond her control. Somehow she knew in her own way that, “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13.

With that strength, a journey that began in the fall of 2001 has finally reached its conclusion. Another has already begun. A full-time job with the Boys and Girls Clubs of Topeka is going well. A wedding fast approaches in June.

Her father’s heart leaps. It is with great pride I could say to her at her graduation ceremony, “Well done, Julie. I love you so very much.”

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in College Life, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our College Graduate

  1. Jay Carey says:

    Congratulations to you Dad, and of course daughter. My daughter has faced challenges too, but keeps on chugging. She must be an “apple” that did not fall far from the tree!!!
    (3 marks worthy my boy).

  2. Tom Pflug says:

    Congratulations and God’s blessings to one and all!

  3. Congratulations to Julie (and all of you). You must be very proud as you should be.

  4. Julie Jacobsen says:

    First let me say thank you for the above congratulations. It feels very good. I know I took a path longer than most but I would not be who I am now if I hadn’t. Thank you dad fir always supporting me (even when it was difficult) and loving me for who I am. I love you so much.

Leave a Reply

