Tennis Has Beens? No, Call Them Tennis Greats

Seated left to right – John Dicus, Tim McManus, Dave Clark, Kevin Hedberg. Standing – Kent Lammers, Mark Nordstrom, Joel Hoffman, Steve Pigg, Eric Rosen, Doug Gleason, Bruce Clark, OJ Thomas, Jeff Gleason, Jeff Jacobsen

Earlier, I wrote of my love for the old Hughes Tennis Courts and the great friends I made at those courts.  On the day after Christmas, my friend Mark Nordstrom invited me to join him for a reunion with the rest of the “Tennis Has Beens” as he put it in the invitation.  I’m going to call them “Tennis Greats” because they represent a glorious period of time when Topeka produced a marvelous group of players that had fantastic high school, collegiate and even professional careers.

There were lots of war stories embellished, as time seems to do by aging minds.  The reality was that there were also many stories of bad knees, shoulders, wrists and necks. The real writer that could have put all this wonderfully in perspective was former Capital-Journal writer Dan Lauck, the other journalist invited.  Unfortunately, Dan and his wife, Meg couldn’t join us.

As with any party at the Nordstroms, the food was awesome thanks to the kitchen brilliance of Mark’s wife, Dona.  I was truly honored by my good friend for the invitation.  Laura took the group photo everyone will cherish from an afternoon that will long be remembered.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

