Nothing Like November

There are lots of things on my mind, but finding the time to put them into actual words is not easy right now.   There is no month quite like November.  Eleven basketball games, four football games and three volleyball matches get squeezed into this month.  Add in softball’s media guide work, some additional women’s golf media guide work and mugs for two of the biggest teams at KU – track & field and baseball – well, you get the idea.

Things seem to blend together into one big colorful mess like the leaves that are stacking up in my yard as there is no time to rake right now.  When a number of game ushers ask if I sleep in my studio since they see me so often, their message isn’t really that funny.  I know after men’s basketball the past Friday night, football on Saturday followed by Sunday women’s basketball and track & field’s many, many mugs – this old body is moving slowly this morning.  What really hits me hard is the production.  I can keep up most of the time.  This isn’t one of those times.  All will get done, and everyone I work with is so very understanding, but I don’t look forward to the hours in front of the computer.

There have been a few highlights with one big and one giant highlight to come.  Professionalism keeps me from commenting on Saturday’s game.  But, if you know me, you know.

I was asked to speak at a communications class at Washburn University, my alma mater this month.  That is the first time I have ever been asked to speak there.  My presentation took place in a lecture hall where I had classes some 37 years ago.  Must have done well enough.  I have been asked to be the keynote speaker at the Communications Department Banquet in April.  I am honored.  I just hope they don’t look at my final GPA before April.  That would be very scary.

I owe my daughter, Julie, for pumping me up to a professor.  Julie has had a great semester and is getting closer to her degree as is her boyfriend at Mississippi State.

The big highlight comes tonight.  If the snow will cooperate, Laura and I drive to St. Louis this afternoon for tomorrow’s KU game against Memphis.  Tonight, I take my wife out to the very fancy restaurant, Tony’s, all dressed up in the beautiful dress we found in Washington this summer.  I can’t wait to see her in it,  will be proud to show her off and will cherish every moment with the woman I love so much.  I promised pictures last summer, and I will deliver.

Then on November 24, Kelly arrives home from six month’s of work in Washington.  Talk about a giant highlight.  It will be fantastic to see her back in Kansas, and I know she is ready to be home.  We’ll have dinner together on Thanksgiving amidst a week of basketball Tuesday, volleyball Wednesday, basketball Friday, football Saturday and basketball Sunday.  Please understand, though, we all know that we have much to be thankful for and will do so with our Savior.

Having Kelly home will just make it more special.  Come November 30, the Kansas Democratic Party head has set up an interview with Kelly about jobs.  No time to rest on past memories.  There are more to come.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing Like November

  1. Kelly says:

    I am so excited to hear that you will be speaking at the communications banquet! I can’t wait to see that!

Leave a Reply

