Knot Headed

Shoe Knots

Proving that I am never too old to learn, I discovered I really didn’t know how to tie my shoes a few months ago.  No, I haven’t spent my life walking around in untied shoes, though I do have a serious weakness for classic slip on Vans.  I just didn’t know how to tie my shoes properly.

Take a look at my running shoes in the photo.  Start with the left foot.  Notice how the loops of the bow run vertically?  That is the result of a granny knot.  One minor mistake in my childhood learning process sentenced me to a life with laces always loosening.  If I didn’t double knot, I was retying my shoes often.

Now, look at the knot on my right shoe.  That’s a reef knot.  A simple adjustment and my laces have lined up horizontally as they should.  The knot actually tightens with activity.  Since learning how to tie my laces properly, I have been running with only one knot and have not stopped to re-tie my shoes once.

Look down at your shoes.  If they look anything like my left foot, you owe it to yourself to read the same article that enlightened me.  Here is the link.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Knot Headed

  1. Pingback: From my dad’s blog: Knot headed « Bidding the Heartland Adieu

  2. Kelly says:

    Glad you chose to share this with the rest of the world! The knot really did change my life!

  3. beau says:

    well that’s just amazing. i feel like i’ve been on the inside. now try to tie a kids’ shoe the right way when you’re looking at it backwards.

Leave a Reply

