I Am A Rabbit

aic-zodiac-3

I am a rabbit.  Can you believe that?  Me, a sweet little bunny.  Isn’t that nice?

Laura and I were eating at Saigon restaurant in Topeka Saturday night.  Their placemats detail the Chinese Zodiac.   Since I was born in 1951, I am a rabbit.

Legend has it that in ancient times, Buddha asked all the animals to meet him on Chinese New Year. Twelve came, and Buddha named a year after each one. He announced that the people born in each animal’s year would have some of that animal’s personality.

Here’s what Saigon’s placemat said about my sign, “Luckiest of all signs, you are also talented and articulate.  Affectionate, yet shy, you seek peace throughout your life.”

It’s that last part that set off roars of laughter and a rapid series of text messages by Laura to both Julie and Kelly.  I’m sure laughter ensued wherever the girls were at the time. Shy and a seeker of peace are descriptions never used to describe me before.

In my shy voice, I kept telling Laura that I really do seek peace.  It’s just that I haven’t been very successful keeping the peace even though I have “the luckiest of all signs.”  I sipped my hot and sour soup thinking about being that peace-loving rabbit.  I read “Watership Down” and loved it.  It’s great to see rabbits on the trails as we run.  I really know, that as hard as he tries, Rocket isn’t going to run a little bunny down and cause any harm.

Then I remembered that rabbits could be tough.  One angry “swamp rabbit” actually attacked and tried to board the fishing boat of President Jimmy Carter in a famed and documented incident in 1979.  Imagine that fierce rabbit swimming, teeth bared, actually trying to board a vessel amidst a sea of Secret Service agents.  Oh, yeah.  Talk about tough.  I was really getting into rabbit mode.

However, I quickly realized, we’re talking about Jimmy Carter.  He is a man held in great, great esteem in my eyes, and someone who has found peace in his life and sought peace for all mankind.  How could I possibly take pride in attacking someone like that?

I have never been superstitious or into astrology and signs but admit the animal signs for Julie – the Boar, and Kelly – the Horse, seemed feasible.  What really was shocking is the fact I have now been married twice to Monkeys, two good, unique and dramatically different women.  At times, the first might have wanted to stew me like the rabbit in “Fatal Attraction.”  Thankfully, with the second, I have actually found my peace.  I am a rabbit.

About jeffjacobsen

Thank you for reading my blog, Here I Stand. You can read all about me, my wife and my family on the Family page. God bless and keep you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am A Rabbit

  1. thecooljulie says:

    I am up to a whole two entries now. I don’t know if I will ever be the blog pros you and Kelly are but we shall see.
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

